M5 Max: $5,399 for 128 GB
The 40-core M5 Max reads memory at 614 GB/s and holds models of around 100 GB, such as DeepSeek V4 Flash (101.5 GB).
The Mac Studio is Apple’s small desktop with up to 512 GB of unified memory shared by the CPU and GPU, enough to hold large language models whole. This guide covers the M5 Max and M5 Ultra on sale now and the 2025 M4 Max and M3 Ultra people still look for, on the models a Lucebox runs.
M5 Max: $5,399 for 128 GB
The 40-core M5 Max reads memory at 614 GB/s and holds models of around 100 GB, such as DeepSeek V4 Flash (101.5 GB).
M5 Ultra: up to 512 GB
About 1.2 TB/s per Apple, and the only Mac Studio on sale that holds DeepSeek V4.1 Flash, from $10,799 with 256 GB.
M4 Max and M3 Ultra: not sold new
Apple’s store dropped both. The M3 Ultra still has the faster memory of the two, 819 GB/s against 546.
The Mac Studio comes with four chips that matter for local AI: the M5 Max and M5 Ultra Apple sells today, and the 2025 M4 Max and M3 Ultra it sold before them.
| Spec | Mac Studio (M5 Max) | Mac Studio (M5 Ultra) | Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025) | Mac Studio (M3 Ultra, 2025) | Lucebox Zero 495 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chip | Apple M5 Max, 18 CPU cores, 32 or 40 GPU cores | Apple M5 Ultra, 30 or 36 CPU cores, 64 or 80 GPU cores | Apple M4 Max, 14 or 16 CPU cores, 32 or 40 GPU cores | Apple M3 Ultra, 60 or 80 GPU cores | AMD Ryzen AI MAX+ PRO 495 and a Radeon AI PRO R9700 card |
| Memory | 36 GB on the 32-core GPU; 48, 64 or 128 GB on the 40-core | 96 GB; 256 or 512 GB with the 80-core GPU | 36 GB on the 32-core GPU; 48, 64 or 128 GB on the 40-core | 96 to 512 GB at launch | 32 GB on the card, plus 128 GB or 192 GB LPDDR5X-8533 |
| Memory speed | 614 GB/s (460 on the 32-core GPU) | 1.2 TB/s | 546 GB/s (410 on the 32-core GPU) | 819 GB/s | 640 GB/s on the card, 273 GB/s unified |
| Networking | 10 GbE, Wi-Fi | 10 GbE, Wi-Fi | 10 GbE, Wi-Fi 6E | 10 GbE, Wi-Fi 6E | 10 GbE, Wi-Fi 7, optional 100 GbE cluster kit |
| Ports and expansion | 4x Thunderbolt 5, USB-A, HDMI 2.1 | 4x Thunderbolt 5, USB-A, HDMI 2.1 | 4x Thunderbolt 5, 2x USB-C, 2x USB-A, HDMI 2.1, SD card slot | 6x Thunderbolt 5, 2x USB-A, HDMI 2.1, SD card slot | 2× USB4, 2× USB-A 3.2 Gen 2, 2× USB-A 2.0, HDMI 2.1, DisplayPort 1.4, plus 4 display outputs on the GPU |
| Power | Up to 480 W | Up to 480 W | Up to 480 W | Up to 480 W | 1,000 W power supply, SFX form factor |
| Size and weight | 95 x 197 x 197 mm, 2.7 kg | 95 x 197 x 197 mm, 3.6 kg | 95 x 197 x 197 mm, 2.74 kg | 95 x 197 x 197 mm, 3.64 kg | 340 × 110 × 320 mm, 11.97 L, 6 kg |
| Ships with | macOS | macOS | macOS | macOS | Ubuntu Server with the Lucebox engine and models installed |
| Warranty | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 1 year, parts and labor |
| Sources | Apple | Apple | Apple (2025 model) | Apple (2025 model), Apple, March 2025 | Lucebox |
The Mac Studio M5 Ultra has 30 or 36 CPU cores, 64 or 80 GPU cores and, per Apple, about 1.2 TB/s of memory bandwidth. It comes with 96 GB, or 256 or 512 GB with the 80-core GPU, from $5,499 for 96 GB to $22,299 for 512 GB on Apple’s US store (31 October 2026).
The Mac Studio M5 Max has an 18-core CPU and a 32 or 40-core GPU; the 40-core chip reads memory at 614 GB/s and takes 48, 64 or 128 GB. With 128 GB and a 1 TB drive it costs $5,399, and it is the Mac in our matched DGX Spark vs Mac Studio run.
For local AI the Mac Studio M3 Ultra is the stronger pick: it reads memory at 819 GB/s, 1.5x the 546 GB/s of a 40-core M4 Max, and it launched with up to 512 GB where the M4 Max stops at 128 GB.
The M4 Max is enough for models of around 100 GB: Qwen3.8-27B (15.2 GB), DeepSeek V4 Flash (101.5 GB) and Qwen3.8-Flash-Next (106.3 GB) each fit in 128 GB. The M3 Ultra adds DeepSeek V4.1 Flash (about 191 GB) at 256 GB, and room for two large models at once at 512 GB.
We have no M4 Max run in our data, so the gap in writing speed is an estimate from bandwidth. Apple sells neither model new any more.
A 128 GB Mac Studio M4 Max holds DeepSeek V4 Flash (101.5 GB) and Qwen3.8-Flash-Next (106.3 GB); DeepSeek V4.1 Flash (about 191 GB) needs a 256 or 512 GB M3 Ultra or M5 Ultra.
| Model and size | Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025)128 GB unified | Mac Studio (M3 Ultra, 2025), 256 GB256 GB unified | Mac Studio (M3 Ultra, 2025), 512 GB512 GB unified | Mac Studio (M5 Max), 128 GB128 GB unified | Mac Studio (M5 Ultra), 256 GB256 GB unified | Lucebox Zero 495, 192 GB32 GB card + 192 GB |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qwen3.8-27B15.2 GB | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes, on the card |
| DeepSeek V4 Flash101.5 GB | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes, card and unified |
| Qwen3.8-Flash-Next106.3 GB | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes, card and unified |
| Qwen3.8-27B and DeepSeek V4 Flash at once116.7 GB | Just, little room left | Yes | Yes | Just, little room left | Yes | Yes, card and unified |
| DeepSeek V4.1 Flash190.8 GB | No | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes, card and unified |
A Mac Studio M5 Max writes DeepSeek V4 Flash at 39.35 tokens per second on a 2K prompt in antirez’s ds4 sweep, and one LocalMaxxing user reports about 33 tokens per second on a 512 GB M3 Ultra. The chart sets the Mac Studio runs beside a DGX Spark, a Strix Halo box and the Lucebox.
M5 Max writes 2.2x as fast as DGX Spark with a 2,048-token prompt, same engine and file. The other runs used a different setup.
These runs differ in engine, file or prompt. Drafting speeds some prompts far more than others.
These runs differ in engine, file or prompt.
R9700 (Lucebox card) writes 2.9x as fast as Strix Halo with a 27-token prompt, same engine and file. The other runs used a different setup. Drafting speeds some prompts far more than others.
These runs differ in engine, file or prompt.
These runs differ in engine, file or prompt. Drafting speeds some prompts far more than others.
Each machine's own published setup, no drafting. Engines, files and prompt lengths differ.
Apple no longer sells the Mac Studio M3 Ultra or M4 Max new, so neither has an Apple price in November 2026; the M5 Max that replaced the M4 Max costs $5,399 with 128 GB. Before the M3 Ultra left the store, Apple raised its 96 to 256 GB upgrade from $1,600 to $2,000 in March 2026, press reports say.
| Machine | Memory | Bandwidth, GB/s | Software | US price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NVIDIA GB10 | ||||
| NVIDIA DGX Spark | 128 GB | 273 | CUDA | $6,950 to $6,995 |
| Apple Mac Studio | ||||
| Mac Studio (M5 Max) | 48 or 128 GB | 614 | MLX, Metal | 48 GB: $3,099 128 GB: $5,399 |
| Mac Studio (M5 Ultra) | 96 or 256 or 512 GB | 1,228 | MLX, Metal | 96 GB: $5,499 256 GB: $10,799 512 GB: $22,299 |
| Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025) | 128 GB | 546 | MLX, Metal | Apple no longer sells it new |
| Mac Studio (M3 Ultra, 2025) | 256 or 512 GB | 819 | MLX, Metal | Apple no longer sells it new |
| Lucebox | ||||
| Lucebox Zero 495, 128 GB | 32 GB on the GPU + 128 GB | 640 / 273 | ROCm, Vulkan | $5,999 |
| Lucebox Zero 495, 192 GB | 32 GB on the GPU + 192 GB | 640 / 273 | ROCm, Vulkan | $8,199 |
US prices read on 30 and 31 October 2026.
Our pick
Lucebox Zero 495, 128 GB
Also consider
We make the Lucebox. It is ranked by the same rule as every other row; a run marked “on our earlier 395 build” comes from the previous Lucebox, with the same R9700 card.
The pick holds the model with room for the prompt, fits your budget and has the fastest run we can link to. Runs with drafting rank against each other first, then runs without it, then machines with no run, by memory speed. The amber band is the Lucebox's 32 GB card.
Buy one if
Look elsewhere if
We make the Lucebox Zero 495, so read this box as ours.
Where it fits
Where it doesn't
From $5,999, delivered from January 2027. See the hardware Configure and order
NVIDIA DGX Spark
AMD Ryzen AI MAX+ boxes
Apple Mac Studio
Yes, for models of around 100 GB: the 2025 Mac Studio M4 Max reads memory at 546 GB/s with the 40-core GPU and holds up to 128 GB, enough for DeepSeek V4 Flash (101.5 GB). It runs the same models as the M5 Max at 614 GB/s, a little slower, and Apple no longer sells it new.
The Apple M3 Ultra in the 2025 Mac Studio has 819 GB/s of memory bandwidth, per Apple’s spec page. That is more than the M5 Max’s 614 GB/s and less than the M5 Ultra’s, which Apple lists at about 1.2 TB/s.
Yes, for large models: the Mac Studio M3 Ultra reads memory at 819 GB/s and launched with up to 512 GB. A LocalMaxxing user reports about 33 tok/s for DeepSeek V4 Flash on a 512 GB M3 Ultra, and another reports 14.8 tok/s for Qwen3.8-Flash-Next.
Not new from Apple. On 3 November 2026 Apple’s US store sold only the M5 Max and M5 Ultra Mac Studio, and its refurbished store listed only M5 Max units; Apple had already dropped the 512 GB M3 Ultra in March 2026. An M4 Max or M3 Ultra now means a reseller or a used unit.
The Mac Studio M5 Ultra has about 1.2 TB/s of bandwidth per Apple, roughly twice the M5 Max, and goes to 512 GB, so it holds DeepSeek V4.1 Flash. For models up to 128 GB the M5 Max costs far less: $5,399 against $10,799 for a 256 GB Ultra.